Compare Immigration Pathways by Country

Compare fees, processing times, requirements, and pathway options across two or more countries side by side — every figure backed by cited official sources.

Switzerland
Netherlands

Skilled Worker Permit (L/G Permit)

Skilled work

Federal fee ordinance (11 June 2024): cantonal maximum CHF 95 to issue, CHF 75 to extend; cantons may charge less. Canton Geneva (OCPM list, 28 Jan 2026), adult from a third country, B or L permit: CHF 95.00 tax + CHF 22.00 production = CHF 117.00, or CHF 137.00 with the CHF 20.00 biometric fee; extension CHF 117.00 with biometrics; under 18: CHF 89.50 first permit. Canton Zurich (AWI decision): CHF 400 within quota, CHF 320 outside, up to 50% surcharge. Schengen visa EUR 90 adult, EUR 45 child; national D visa fee not stated.≈ $107

SEM says that, in general, you should expect six to eight weeks for a non-EU/EFTA work permit file to be processed fully (SEM FAQ – Working, modified 05.07.2026). Canton Geneva (OCPM, published 21 September 2026) gives an indicative 6 to 8 weeks for a first work permit of a non-European national; other cantons may differ.

Verified official

Residence permit (B permit) for non-EU/EFTA nationals

Skilled work

Federal fee ordinance (11 June 2024): cantonal maximum CHF 95 to issue, CHF 75 to extend; cantons may charge less. Geneva (OCPM, 28 Jan 2026): adult third-country B or L permit CHF 117.00 (CHF 137.00 with biometrics). Zurich (AWI): CHF 400 within quota, CHF 320 outside. Vaud (Service de l'emploi): CHF 400. Basel-Stadt labour-market check: CHF 180 within quota, CHF 100 outside, at most CHF 500 in complex cases. Schengen visa EUR 90 adult; national D visa fee not stated.≈ $107

SEM says that, in general, you should expect six to eight weeks for a non-EU/EFTA work permit file to be processed fully (SEM FAQ – Working, modified 05.07.2026). Canton Geneva (OCPM, published 21 September 2026) gives an indicative 6 to 8 weeks for a first work permit of a non-European national. Canton Bern asks employers to file at least eight weeks before the start of work. Other cantons may differ.

Verified official

Residence permit (Permit B) for EU/EFTA nationals

Work permit

Swiss federal fee ordinance (as of 11 June 2024): for nationals of an EU/EFTA state under the free movement agreement the maximum total cantonal fee is CHF 65 (CHF 30 for unmarried minors). Cantons may charge less.≈ $73

Canton Geneva (OCPM, published 21 September 2026): an indicative 6 to 8 weeks for a first permit with gainful activity for an EU national; other cantons may differ.

Verified official

G EU/EFTA permit (Cross-border commuters)

Work permit

Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult EU-category G permit: CHF 65 for arrival/return or extension. Confirm the applicable EFTA tariff and any separate work-authorisation charges with the canton. This is a Geneva example, not a national total.≈ $73

Canton Geneva (OCPM, published 21 September 2026): an indicative 3 months for a cross-border permit request; other cantons may differ.

Verified official

Short-term residence permit (L permit)

Work permit

Arrival/initial issue: Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult L card: EU category CHF 65; third-country category CHF 117 without / CHF 137 with biometrics. This is a cantonal card-fee example, not a total national or programme price. Confirm the applicable nationality, service and any work-authorisation, SEM or entry-visa charges with the responsible authorities.≈ $73

Geneva OCPM (published 21 September 2026): indicative 6–8 weeks for a first permit request with paid employment, in the EU or non-European category. This is a cantonal employment-application example, not a national L-permit or end-to-end entry timetable; it does not establish job-seeking or renewal times. Confirm the applicable process with the canton.

Verified official

Stagiaires Program (Young Professionals)

Work permit

Arrival/initial issue: Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult B/L card: EU category CHF 65; third-country category CHF 117 without / CHF 137 with biometrics. No Young Professionals-specific total fee has been established by this review. This is a cantonal card-fee example, not a total national or programme price. Confirm the applicable nationality, service and any work-authorisation, SEM or entry-visa charges with the responsible authorities.≈ $73

Not stated on the official pages we have read; ask the cantonal migration office.

Verified official

National Visa D for Study Purposes

Study

Federal fee ordinance (11 June 2024): cantonal maximum CHF 95 to issue, CHF 75 to extend; cantons may charge less. Canton Geneva (OCPM list, 28 Jan 2026), adult from a third country, B or L permit: CHF 95.00 tax + CHF 22.00 production = CHF 117.00, or CHF 137.00 with the CHF 20.00 biometric fee; extension CHF 117.00 with biometrics; under 18: CHF 89.50 first permit. Schengen visa EUR 90 adult, EUR 45 child (Geneva list); national D visa fee not stated.≈ $107

SEM says category D visa applications are processed by the cantons and that, as a rule, one to several months must be expected (SEM FAQ – Entry, modified 27.08.2026). Canton Geneva (OCPM, published 21 September 2026) gives an indicative 6 to 8 weeks for a student permit; other cantons may differ.

Verified official

Settlement Permit (Permit C)

Permanent residence

Arrival/initial issue: Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult C card: EU category CHF 105 without / CHF 120 with biometrics; third-country category CHF 117 without / CHF 137 with biometrics. This is a cantonal card-fee example, not a total national or programme price. Confirm the applicable nationality, service and any work-authorisation, SEM or entry-visa charges with the responsible authorities.≈ $119

Canton Geneva (OCPM, published 21 September 2026): an indicative 12 months for an early C permit request; other cantons may differ.

Verified official

Family Reunification

Family

Geneva OCPM tariff, 28 January 2026: illustrative initial B/L residence-card fees are CHF 65 for an EU adult and CHF 30 under 18; third-country B/L CHF 117 adult/CHF 69.50 under 18 without biometrics, or CHF 137/CHF 89.50 with biometrics. Confirm the recipient's applicable tariff, permit and age with OCPM, including EFTA and any exemption. These are Geneva card examples per person, not a national or whole-family total. National D visa, translations and other costs must be confirmed separately.≈ $73

Geneva OCPM, published21September2026: indicative6–8months for family-reunification requests; other cantons/cases may differ. Filing deadlines are separate and depend on sponsor status; EU/EFTA has no general five-year/one-year limit.

Verified official

Highly skilled migrant

Skilled work

IND (last update 11 September 2026): the application costs EUR 423.00. 2026 salary thresholds: EUR 4,357 gross per month under 30, EUR 5,942 from age 30, reduced criterion EUR 3,122.≈ $457

IND states a legal decision period of 90 days for work as a highly skilled migrant (IND decision periods page).

Verified official

EU Blue Card (Netherlands)

Employer sponsored

IND (last update 15 June 2026): the application costs EUR 423.00. 2026 salary: EUR 5,942 gross per month (reduced criterion EUR 4,754).≈ $457

IND decision periods: 30 days for recognised-sponsor or long-term-mobility applications and their concurrent qualifying family applications; 45 days for specified changes from an existing Dutch permit when the 30-day branch does not apply; otherwise 90 days. Check the IND branch list. Extensions are possible.

Verified official

Residence permit for orientation year

Post-study work

IND (last update 7 October 2026): the application costs EUR 254.00.≈ $274

IND: the IND must take a decision within 90 days.

Verified official

Student residence permit for university or higher professional education

Study

IND (last update 21 September 2026): the application costs EUR 254.00. Study amount for 2026: EUR 1,130.77 per month (university or hbo).≈ $274

IND: the IND must take a decision within 60 days.

Verified official

Residence permit self-employed person

Business

IND standard application/change/extension fee: EUR423; the current fee table also lists EUR423 for change from start-up. Other-EU long-term-resident rate: EUR254; qualifying EC–Turkey work applications: EUR85. Check the current applicable rate/exemption. EUR4500 is business investment, not a fee: only the treaty substantial-capital branch, for most business forms; it is not a general self-employed minimum.≈ $457

IND: decision within 90 days; this may be extended by a maximum of 6 months if advice from RVO or OCW is requested.

Under review

Residence permit for partner

Family

IND (last update 24 July 2026): the application costs EUR 254.00. Sponsor income EUR 2,337.00 gross per month (EUR 2,523.96 with holiday allowance), valid 1 July to 31 December 2026.≈ $274

IND: the IND must take a decision within 90 days.

Verified official