Compare Immigration Pathways by Country
Compare fees, processing times, requirements, and pathway options across two or more countries side by side — every figure backed by cited official sources.
| Attribute | United Arab Emirates 8 Pathways | Spain 6 Pathways |
|---|---|---|
| Official authority | — | — |
| Skilled work | ||
| Pathway | Green Visa Skilled work ICP (Green Residence investor category): application fee AED 100, Green Residence issuance for a 5-year duration AED 100 per year, smart service fee AED 100. Requirements: monthly salary of at least AED 15,000 (or equivalent), or freelance income of at least AED 360,000 a year over the previous two years. Valid 5 years, renewable.≈ $27 ICP states a service completion duration of 2 days for issuing a residence permit or an entry visa (page updated December 2024). That is the ICP service step, not the whole process; the total time is not stated. Job offer Language test Family possible | Visado para trabajador altamente cualificado (PAC) Skilled work Ministry of Inclusion sheet 66: the authorization fee is paid with Model 790 code 038, heading 7.1 (amount not on the page). The visa fee is set by the consulate: the Spanish consulate in Mumbai lists INR 8,920 for a general national visa (from 1 July 2025); the highly qualified visa has no row there.≈ $107 Ministry of Inclusion sheet 66: the application must be resolved within twenty days of electronic submission; if not, the authorization is deemed granted by administrative silence. After approval the worker has one month to apply for the visa at the consulate. Job offer Language test Family possible |
Abu Dhabi Golden Visa for Skilled Professionals Skilled work ICP (Golden Residence category): application fee AED 100, new Golden Residence issuance for a 10-year duration AED 100 per year, smart service fee AED 100. The fee for this specific sub-category (entrepreneur or skilled) is not listed separately; other emirates and authorities may charge more.≈ $27 ICP states a service completion duration of 2 days for issuing a residence permit or an entry visa (page updated December 2024). That is the ICP service step, not the whole process. Unofficial estimates for the whole process (law and consultancy firms, not the government) range from a few working days to about 12 weeks depending on the category, medical test and Emirates ID steps. Job offer Language test Family possible | — | |
| Work permit | ||
| Pathway | Employment Visa (UAE) Work permit Dubai (GDRFA) private-sector residence permit: fee AED 200 plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham, AED 500 inside the country and AED 20 delivery; the issuance fee increases by AED 100 annually when the residency is over two years. Other emirates may differ.≈ $54 GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the residence permit service. This is the service step, not the whole process. Job offer Language test Family possible | Visado de teletrabajo de carácter internacional (Digital Nomad Visa) Work permit The fee is set by the consulate where you apply and must be paid at submission. Example: the Spanish Embassy in Ottawa lists CAD 145.50 as the general national visa fee (valid from 1 January 2026). Check your consulate's fee list.≈ $106 Spanish consulate in London (page dated 17 May 2024): the legal term for a decision is 10 days, but it may be extended when an interview or extra documents are requested. Other consulates may differ. Job offer Language test Family possible |
| Employer sponsored | ||
| Pathway | — | EU Blue Card (Spain) Employer sponsored Ministry of Inclusion sheet 66: the authorization fee is paid with Model 790 code 038, heading 7.1 (amount not on the page). The visa fee is set by the consulate: the Spanish consulate in Mumbai lists INR 8,920 for a general national visa (from 1 July 2025); the highly qualified visa has no row there.≈ $107 Ministry of Inclusion sheet 66: the application must be resolved within twenty days of electronic submission; if not, the authorization is deemed granted by administrative silence. After approval the worker has one month to apply for the visa at the consulate. Job offer Language test Family possible |
| Study | ||
| Pathway | Student Visa Study Dubai (GDRFA) residence permit for a student: fee AED 200 plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham, AED 500 inside the country and AED 20 delivery; the issuance fee increases by AED 100 annually when the residency is over two years. The educational institution must be licensed. Other emirates may differ.≈ $54 GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the student residence permit (service step, not the whole process). Job offer Language test Family possible | Visado de estudios Study The fee is set by the consulate where you apply and must be paid at submission. Example: the Spanish Embassy in Ottawa lists CAD 145.50 as the general national visa fee (valid from 1 January 2026). Check your consulate's fee list.≈ $106 The Spanish consulate in San Francisco says processing until approval can take 5 to 8 weeks (one consulate; others may differ). Apply at least two months before your studies start. Job offer Language test Family possible |
| Business | ||
| Pathway | Golden Visa - Entrepreneurs Business ICP (Golden Residence category): application fee AED 100, new Golden Residence issuance for a 10-year duration AED 100 per year, smart service fee AED 100. The fee for this specific sub-category (entrepreneur or skilled) is not listed separately; other emirates and authorities may charge more.≈ $27 ICP states a service completion duration of 2 days for issuing a residence permit or an entry visa (page updated December 2024). That is the ICP service step, not the whole process. Unofficial estimates for the whole process (law and consultancy firms, not the government) range from a few working days to about 12 weeks depending on the category, medical test and Emirates ID steps. Job offer Language test Family possible | — |
| Permanent residence | ||
| Pathway | Golden Visa - Outstanding Students and Graduates Permanent residence Select the actual student/graduate branch in the official Golden Residency service and follow its current document and application instructions. Confirm student-category fees and processing time with the issuing authority. Select the actual student/graduate branch in the official Golden Residency service and follow its current document and application instructions. Confirm student-category fees and processing time with the issuing authority. Job offer Language test Family possible | — |
| Family | ||
| Pathway | Residence visa for families Family Dubai (GDRFA) residence permit for foreign family members: fee AED 200 plus AED 10 Knowledge Dirham and AED 10 Innovation Dirham, AED 500 inside the country and AED 20 delivery; the issuance fee increases by AED 100 annually when the residency is over two years. The entry visa for family sponsorship costs AED 200 plus VAT (5%). Other emirates may differ.≈ $54 GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the family residence permit and for the family-sponsorship entry visa (service steps, not the whole process). The sponsor's salary must be AED 4,000 or AED 3,000 (GDRFA terms). Job offer Language test Family possible | Autorización de residencia temporal por reagrupación familiar Family Ministry of Inclusion sheet 8 (May 2025): a processing fee must be paid with Modelo 790 código 052; no amount is given on the page. Ministry of Inclusion sheet 8: the period to resolve the request is two months; after that without notification it may be treated as dismissed by administrative silence. If granted, you then have two months to apply for the visa at the consulate. Job offer Language test Family possible |
| Other | ||
| Pathway | Jobseeker visit visa Other The u.ae page (updated 28 Sep 2026) states no fee. Dubai (GDRFA) visit visa fees: AED 200 for 60 days, AED 300 for 90 days, AED 400 for 120 days, plus 5% VAT; security amount AED 1,000 and other service fees apply. Other emirates may differ.≈ $54 GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the visit visa service (service step, not the whole process). The u.ae page states no time. Job offer Language test Family possible | Visado de residencia no lucrativa Other The fee is set by the consulate where you apply. The Spanish consulate in Mumbai (from 1 July 2025) lists INR 8,920 for a general national visa and an additional INR 1,084 for the non-lucrative residence authorization. Funds: 400% of IPREM plus 100% per family member (London consulate page, 6 July 2026).≈ $107 Spanish consulate in London (page dated 6 July 2026): the legal period for a decision is 2 months from the day after submission, but it may be extended when an interview or extra documents are requested. Other consulates may differ. Job offer Language test Family possible |
Green Visa
Skilled work
ICP states a service completion duration of 2 days for issuing a residence permit or an entry visa (page updated December 2024). That is the ICP service step, not the whole process; the total time is not stated.
Abu Dhabi Golden Visa for Skilled Professionals
Skilled work
ICP states a service completion duration of 2 days for issuing a residence permit or an entry visa (page updated December 2024). That is the ICP service step, not the whole process. Unofficial estimates for the whole process (law and consultancy firms, not the government) range from a few working days to about 12 weeks depending on the category, medical test and Emirates ID steps.
Employment Visa (UAE)
Work permit
GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the residence permit service. This is the service step, not the whole process.
Student Visa
Study
GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the student residence permit (service step, not the whole process).
Golden Visa - Entrepreneurs
Business
ICP states a service completion duration of 2 days for issuing a residence permit or an entry visa (page updated December 2024). That is the ICP service step, not the whole process. Unofficial estimates for the whole process (law and consultancy firms, not the government) range from a few working days to about 12 weeks depending on the category, medical test and Emirates ID steps.
Golden Visa - Outstanding Students and Graduates
Permanent residence
Select the actual student/graduate branch in the official Golden Residency service and follow its current document and application instructions. Confirm student-category fees and processing time with the issuing authority.
Residence visa for families
Family
GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the family residence permit and for the family-sponsorship entry visa (service steps, not the whole process). The sponsor's salary must be AED 4,000 or AED 3,000 (GDRFA terms).
Jobseeker visit visa
Other
GDRFA Dubai: expected completion time 48 hours for the visit visa service (service step, not the whole process). The u.ae page states no time.
Visado para trabajador altamente cualificado (PAC)
Skilled work
Ministry of Inclusion sheet 66: the application must be resolved within twenty days of electronic submission; if not, the authorization is deemed granted by administrative silence. After approval the worker has one month to apply for the visa at the consulate.
Visado de teletrabajo de carácter internacional (Digital Nomad Visa)
Work permit
Spanish consulate in London (page dated 17 May 2024): the legal term for a decision is 10 days, but it may be extended when an interview or extra documents are requested. Other consulates may differ.
EU Blue Card (Spain)
Employer sponsored
Ministry of Inclusion sheet 66: the application must be resolved within twenty days of electronic submission; if not, the authorization is deemed granted by administrative silence. After approval the worker has one month to apply for the visa at the consulate.
Visado de estudios
Study
The Spanish consulate in San Francisco says processing until approval can take 5 to 8 weeks (one consulate; others may differ). Apply at least two months before your studies start.
Autorización de residencia temporal por reagrupación familiar
Family
Ministry of Inclusion sheet 8: the period to resolve the request is two months; after that without notification it may be treated as dismissed by administrative silence. If granted, you then have two months to apply for the visa at the consulate.
Visado de residencia no lucrativa
Other
Spanish consulate in London (page dated 6 July 2026): the legal period for a decision is 2 months from the day after submission, but it may be extended when an interview or extra documents are requested. Other consulates may differ.
