Compare Immigration Pathways by Country

Compare fees, processing times, requirements, and pathway options across two or more countries side by side — every figure backed by cited official sources.

United States

O-1 Extraordinary Ability Visa

Skilled work

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-129 for O petitions USD 1,055 paper or USD 1,005 online (small employer or nonprofit USD 530), plus other fees that may apply. State Department: visa application fee USD 205. USCIS: the employer should file at least 45 days before the date of employment; stay up to three years. New USCIS fees take effect October 16, 2026.≈ $1,055

USCIS processing-times tool, Form I-129 at Service Center Operations, 80% of cases are completed within: H-1B 11 months (visa to be issued abroad), 10 months (change of status), 11.5 months (extension); L intracompany 6.5 months; O extraordinary ability 14.5 months. After approval, State Department wait times (updated 17 Sep 2026) for the visa interview in the petition-based group (H, L, O, P, Q): New Delhi 3 months, Mumbai 1.5 months (appointment wait only).

Verified official

J-1 Exchange Visitor Visa

Work permit

State Department fee page (USD): non-petition-based nonimmigrant visa application fee USD 185 (includes F, M and J). The SEVIS I-901 fee also applies and is paid at FMJfee.com (the amount is not shown on the Study in the States page). An issuance fee depends on your nationality.≈ $185

State Department global visa wait times (updated 17 Sep 2026): next available interview appointment for student and exchange visas (F, M, J) is 2 months at New Delhi and 2.5 months at Mumbai. This is the appointment wait, not the decision time. A student visa can be issued up to 365 days before the course start, and you may enter no more than 30 days before it.

Verified official

H-1B Specialty Occupation Visa

Employer sponsored

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-129 for H-1B USD 780 paper or USD 730 online (small employer or nonprofit USD 460), plus other fees that may apply. State Department: visa application fee USD 205. USCIS notes a new 9-11 Biometric Fee rule effective September 9, 2026, and that a court order of June 8, 2026 vacated agency guidance on the USD 100,000 payment requirement. New USCIS fees take effect October 16, 2026.≈ $780

USCIS processing-times tool, Form I-129 at Service Center Operations, 80% of cases are completed within: H-1B 11 months (visa to be issued abroad), 10 months (change of status), 11.5 months (extension); L intracompany 6.5 months; O extraordinary ability 14.5 months. After approval, State Department wait times (updated 17 Sep 2026) for the visa interview in the petition-based group (H, L, O, P, Q): New Delhi 3 months, Mumbai 1.5 months (appointment wait only).

Verified official

L-1 Intracompany Transferee Visa

Employer sponsored

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-129 for L petitions USD 1,385 paper or USD 1,335 online (small employer or nonprofit USD 695), plus other fees that may apply. State Department: visa application fee USD 205; L blanket petition fraud fee USD 500. New USCIS fees take effect October 16, 2026.≈ $1,385

USCIS processing-times tool, Form I-129 at Service Center Operations, 80% of cases are completed within: H-1B 11 months (visa to be issued abroad), 10 months (change of status), 11.5 months (extension); L intracompany 6.5 months; O extraordinary ability 14.5 months. After approval, State Department wait times (updated 17 Sep 2026) for the visa interview in the petition-based group (H, L, O, P, Q): New Delhi 3 months, Mumbai 1.5 months (appointment wait only).

Verified official

F-1 Student Visa (USA)

Study

State Department fee page (USD): non-petition-based nonimmigrant visa application fee USD 185 (includes F, M and J). The SEVIS I-901 fee also applies and is paid at FMJfee.com (the amount is not shown on the Study in the States page). An issuance fee depends on your nationality.≈ $185

State Department global visa wait times (updated 17 Sep 2026): next available interview appointment for student and exchange visas (F, M, J) is 2 months at New Delhi and 2.5 months at Mumbai. This is the appointment wait, not the decision time. A student visa can be issued up to 365 days before the course start, and you may enter no more than 30 days before it.

Verified official

EB-5 Immigrant Investor Program

Business

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-526 or I-526E USD 3,675; an initial I-526E also carries a separate USD 1,000 fee under the EB-5 Reform and Integrity Act. Minimum investment (USCIS page dated 03/01/2023): USD 1,050,000, or USD 800,000 in a targeted employment area. New fees take effect October 16, 2026.≈ $3,675

USCIS processing-times tool, 80% of cases are completed within: 36.5 months for Form I-526 (standalone investor) and 35 months for Form I-526E (regional center investor), both at the Immigrant Investor Program Office. Estimates change over time.

Verified official

E-2 Treaty Investor Visa

Business

State Department fee page (USD): E treaty trader or investor visa application fee USD 315. Required investment amounts are not set by a fixed figure on the pages we read.≈ $315

Not stated. The State Department global wait-times table (updated 17 September 2026) has no column for E visas; it says wait times vary by location, season and visa category, so apply early.

Verified official

EB-1 Extraordinary Ability Green Card

Permanent residence

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-140 USD 715 paper or USD 665 online, plus the Asylum Program Fee (USD 600 regular petitioner, USD 300 small employer or self-petitioner, USD 0 nonprofit) and other fees that may apply. State Department: employment-based immigrant visa processing USD 345. USCIS says new inflation-adjusted fees take effect on October 16, 2026.≈ $715

USCIS processing-times tool: Form I-140 extraordinary ability (E11) at Service Center Operations, 80% of cases are completed within 32.5 months. Estimates differ by category and change over time.

Verified official

Employment-Based Second Preference (EB-2) - National Interest Waiver

Permanent residence

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-140 USD 715 paper or USD 665 online, plus the Asylum Program Fee (USD 600 regular petitioner, USD 300 small employer or self-petitioner, USD 0 nonprofit) and other fees that may apply. State Department: employment-based immigrant visa processing USD 345. USCIS says new inflation-adjusted fees take effect on October 16, 2026.≈ $715

USCIS processing-times tool: Form I-140 for advanced degree or exceptional ability requesting a National Interest Waiver at Service Center Operations, 80% of cases are completed within 30 months. The standard EB-2 category (E21) was not checked.

Verified official

EB-3 Skilled Worker Green Card

Permanent residence

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-140 USD 715 paper or USD 665 online, plus the Asylum Program Fee (USD 600 regular petitioner, USD 300 small employer or self-petitioner, USD 0 nonprofit) and other fees that may apply. State Department: employment-based immigrant visa processing USD 345. USCIS says new inflation-adjusted fees take effect on October 16, 2026.≈ $715

USCIS processing-times tool: Form I-140 skilled worker or professional (E31; E32) at Service Center Operations, 80% of cases are completed within 4 months. Estimates change over time.

Verified official

Diversity Visa (DV) Lottery

Permanent residence

The two official State Department pages differ. The DV entry page says: "There is no cost to register for the DV Program." The State Department fee page lists a Diversity Visa Registration Fee of USD 1.00 (paid at registration by the principal applicant) and a Diversity Visa Application Fee of USD 330.00 per selectee. Check the E-DV site at the time you register.≈ $1

Not stated on the official page we read. Entries are accepted only during the registration period set each year.

Verified official

Immigrant Visa for a Spouse of a U.S. Citizen (IR1 or CR1)

Family

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-130 USD 675 paper or USD 625 online; Form I-485 for an adult USD 1,440 paper or USD 1,390 online. State Department: immigrant visa application processing USD 325 for immediate relatives; affidavit of support review USD 120 (only when reviewed domestically). USCIS says new inflation-adjusted fees take effect on October 16, 2026.≈ $675

USCIS processing-times tool (80% of cases completed within): I-130 for a U.S. citizen's spouse, parent or child under 21 is 25.5 months at Service Center Operations and 83.5 months at all field offices; I-485 family-based at New York City is 14.5 months (one example office, times differ by office). The State Department says the length of time for a visa varies from case to case and cannot be predicted with any accuracy.

Verified official

Immediate Relative Family-Based Green Card

Family

USCIS fee schedule G-1055 (edition 10/07/26): Form I-130 USD 675 paper or USD 625 online; Form I-485 for an adult USD 1,440 paper or USD 1,390 online. State Department: immigrant visa application processing USD 325 for immediate relatives; affidavit of support review USD 120 (only when reviewed domestically). USCIS says new inflation-adjusted fees take effect on October 16, 2026.≈ $675

USCIS processing-times tool (80% of cases completed within): I-130 for a U.S. citizen's spouse, parent or child under 21 is 25.5 months at Service Center Operations and 83.5 months at all field offices; I-485 family-based at New York City is 14.5 months (one example office, times differ by office). The State Department says the length of time for a visa varies from case to case and cannot be predicted with any accuracy.

Verified official