Switzerland

Cost of Immigrating to Switzerland

Full fee breakdown for 2026 — compare costs across all 9 pathways

SEM (State Secretariat for Migration)Official website

Fee Breakdown by Pathway

Estimated immigration costs for each pathway to Switzerland. Fees are sourced from official program pages.

Settlement Permit (Permit C)Permanent residence
Arrival/initial issue: Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult C card: EU category CHF 105 without / CHF 120 with biometrics; third-country category CHF 117 without / CHF 137 with biometrics. This is a cantonal card-fee example, not a total national or programme price. Confirm the applicable nationality, service and any work-authorisation, SEM or entry-visa charges with the responsible authorities.≈ $119
Residence permit (B permit) for non-EU/EFTA nationalsSkilled work
Federal fee ordinance (11 June 2024): cantonal maximum CHF 95 to issue, CHF 75 to extend; cantons may charge less. Geneva (OCPM, 28 Jan 2026): adult third-country B or L permit CHF 117.00 (CHF 137.00 with biometrics). Zurich (AWI): CHF 400 within quota, CHF 320 outside. Vaud (Service de l'emploi): CHF 400. Basel-Stadt labour-market check: CHF 180 within quota, CHF 100 outside, at most CHF 500 in complex cases. Schengen visa EUR 90 adult; national D visa fee not stated.≈ $107
National Visa D for Study PurposesStudy
Federal fee ordinance (11 June 2024): cantonal maximum CHF 95 to issue, CHF 75 to extend; cantons may charge less. Canton Geneva (OCPM list, 28 Jan 2026), adult from a third country, B or L permit: CHF 95.00 tax + CHF 22.00 production = CHF 117.00, or CHF 137.00 with the CHF 20.00 biometric fee; extension CHF 117.00 with biometrics; under 18: CHF 89.50 first permit. Schengen visa EUR 90 adult, EUR 45 child (Geneva list); national D visa fee not stated.≈ $107
Skilled Worker Permit (L/G Permit)Skilled work
Federal fee ordinance (11 June 2024): cantonal maximum CHF 95 to issue, CHF 75 to extend; cantons may charge less. Canton Geneva (OCPM list, 28 Jan 2026), adult from a third country, B or L permit: CHF 95.00 tax + CHF 22.00 production = CHF 117.00, or CHF 137.00 with the CHF 20.00 biometric fee; extension CHF 117.00 with biometrics; under 18: CHF 89.50 first permit. Canton Zurich (AWI decision): CHF 400 within quota, CHF 320 outside, up to 50% surcharge. Schengen visa EUR 90 adult, EUR 45 child; national D visa fee not stated.≈ $107
Family ReunificationFamily
Geneva OCPM tariff, 28 January 2026: illustrative initial B/L residence-card fees are CHF 65 for an EU adult and CHF 30 under 18; third-country B/L CHF 117 adult/CHF 69.50 under 18 without biometrics, or CHF 137/CHF 89.50 with biometrics. Confirm the recipient's applicable tariff, permit and age with OCPM, including EFTA and any exemption. These are Geneva card examples per person, not a national or whole-family total. National D visa, translations and other costs must be confirmed separately.≈ $73
Stagiaires Program (Young Professionals)Work permit
Arrival/initial issue: Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult B/L card: EU category CHF 65; third-country category CHF 117 without / CHF 137 with biometrics. No Young Professionals-specific total fee has been established by this review. This is a cantonal card-fee example, not a total national or programme price. Confirm the applicable nationality, service and any work-authorisation, SEM or entry-visa charges with the responsible authorities.≈ $73
Short-term residence permit (L permit)Work permit
Arrival/initial issue: Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult L card: EU category CHF 65; third-country category CHF 117 without / CHF 137 with biometrics. This is a cantonal card-fee example, not a total national or programme price. Confirm the applicable nationality, service and any work-authorisation, SEM or entry-visa charges with the responsible authorities.≈ $73
G EU/EFTA permit (Cross-border commuters)Work permit
Geneva OCPM fee list (28 January 2026), adult EU-category G permit: CHF 65 for arrival/return or extension. Confirm the applicable EFTA tariff and any separate work-authorisation charges with the canton. This is a Geneva example, not a national total.≈ $73
Residence permit (Permit B) for EU/EFTA nationalsWork permit
Swiss federal fee ordinance (as of 11 June 2024): for nationals of an EU/EFTA state under the free movement agreement the maximum total cantonal fee is CHF 65 (CHF 30 for unmarried minors). Cantons may charge less.≈ $73